Go Back Email this Link to a friend

SASOL LIMITED - Results of the Annual General Meeting of Sasol held on 30 November 2012

Release Date: 30/11/2012 12:44:00      Code(s): SOLBE1 SOL     
Sasol Limited
(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa)
(Registration number 1979/003231/06)
Sasol Ordinary Share codes:    JSE : SOL      NYSE : SSL
Sasol Ordinary ISIN codes:     ZAE000006896   US8038663006
Sasol BEE Ordinary Share code:      JSE : SOLBE1
Sasol BEE Ordinary ISIN code:       ZAE000151817
(?Sasol? or ?the Company?)


Sasol shareholders are advised that the results of the business conducted at
the annual general meeting held on Friday 30 November 2012 in Parktown,
Johannesburg, South Africa (including the percentage of total number of shares
voted) are as follows:

1.   Annual general meeting

1.1. The audited annual financial statements of the Company, including the
reports of the directors, external auditors, audit committee and the
nomination, governance, social and ethics committee for the financial year
ended 30 June 2012 were presented.

1.2. Mr C Beggs, Mr D E Constable, Mr H G Dijkgraaf, Dr M S V Gantsho and
Ms I N Mkhize retired by rotation at the meeting and were re-elected
individually for a further term of office in terms of Articles 75(d) and 75(e)
of the Company?s Memorandum of Incorporation (?Sasol?s MOI?):

Directors            For                Against              Abstain
C Beggs              99.84%             0.05%                0.11%
D E Constable        99.84%             0.05%                0.11%
H G Dijkgraaf        99.84%             0.05%                0.12%
M S V Gantsho        97.94%             1.94%                0.11%
I N Mkhize           99.82%             0.06%                0.11%

1.3. Prof J E Schrempp, who retired in terms of Article 75(i) of the Sasol?s
MOI, and was thereafter re-appointed as director by the board of directors of
Sasol (?the Board?) in accordance with Article 75(h), was re-elected for a
further term of office:

Directors            For                Against              Abstain
J E Schrempp         99.12%             0.76%                0.12%

1.4. The three directors appointed by the Board during the course of the year,
Mr Z M Mkhize, Mr P J Robertson and Mr S Westwell retired at the annual
general meeting and were elected in terms of Sasol?s MOI:

Directors            For                Against              Abstain
Z M Mkhize           99.31%             0.58%                0.11%
P J Robertson       99.84%             0.05%               0.11%
S Westwell          99.84%             0.05%               0.11%

1.5. KPMG Incorporated was re-appointed as auditors of the Company until the
conclusion of the next annual general meeting and it was noted that
Mr C H Basson will be the individual registered auditor who will undertake the
audit of the Company for the financial year ending 30 June 2013.

1.6. The members of the audit committee, Mr C Beggs, Mr H G Dijkgraaf,
Dr M S V Gantsho, Mr M J N Njeke and Mr S Westwell were elected individually
for the ensuing financial year in terms of sections 94(4) and 94(5) of the
Companies Act, 2008 (?the Act?), read with Regulation 42 of the Companies
Regulations, 2011:

Directors           For                Against             Abstain
C Beggs             99.89%             0.00%               0.10%
H G Dijkgraaf       99.89%             0.00%               0.10%
M S V Gantsho       98.00%             1.90%               0.10%
M J N Njeke         96.70%             3.04%               0.25%
S Westwell          99.89%             0.00%               0.10%

1.7. A non-binding advisory endorsement on the Company?s remuneration policy
for the year ending 30 June 2013 was obtained:

For                 Against             Abstain
63.93%              23.00%              13.06%

1.8. Special Resolution number 1 approving the revised annual remuneration
payable by the Company to non-executive directors of the Company with effect
from 1 July 2012, was approved:

For                 Against             Abstain
82.13%              4.02%               13.85%

1.9. Special Resolution number 2 to authorise the board to grant authority to
the Company to provide financial assistance to any person approved by the
Board and direct or indirect financial assistance to a related or inter-
related company or corporation and or to a member of such a related or inter-
related company or corporation and or to a director or prescribed officer of
the Company or of a related or inter-related company and or to a person
related to any such company, corporation, member, director or prescribed
officer, subject to the Sasol?s MOI, the provisions of sections 44 and 45 of
the Act and the JSE Limited Listings Requirements (?the listings
requirements?), was approved:

For                 Against             Abstain
95.70%              3.88%               0.43%
1.10. Special Resolution number 3 to authorise that the existing Sasol MOI be
abrogated in its entirety and replaced with a new MOI with effect from the
date of filing of the notice of amendment with the Companies and Intellectual
Property Commission, was approved:

For                 Against             Abstain
99.70%              0.01%               0.30%

1.11. Special Resolution number 4 to authorise the Board, subject to
compliance with the requirements of Sasol?s MOI, section 48 of the Act and the
listings requirements, to approve the general repurchase by the Company or
purchase by any of its subsidiaries of any of the Company?s ordinary shares
and/or Sasol BEE ordinary shares, was approved:

For                 Against             Abstain
92.86%              1.96%               0.11%

1.12. Special Resolution number 5 to authorise the Board to approve the
purchase by the Company of its issued shares from a director and/or a
prescribed officer of the Company, and/or person related to a director or
prescribed officer of the Company, subject to the provisions of Sasol?s MOI,
the Act and the listings requirements, was approved:

For                 Against             Abstain
91.54%              2.92%               0.47%

Special Resolution number 3 regarding the adoption of the new MOI in terms of
the Act will be filed with the Companies and Intellectual Property Commission.

30 November 2012
Sponsor: Deutsche Securities (SA) Proprietary Limited

Date: 30/11/2012 12:44:00 Supplied by www.sharenet.co.za                     
Produced by the JSE SENS Department                             . The SENS service is an information dissemination service administered by the JSE Limited ('JSE'). 
The JSE does not, whether expressly, tacitly or implicitly, represent, warrant or in any way guarantee the truth, accuracy or completeness of
 the information published on SENS. The JSE, their officers, employees and agents accept no liability for (or in respect of) any direct, 
indirect, incidental or consequential loss or damage of any kind or nature, howsoever arising, from the use of SENS or the use of, or reliance on,
 information disseminated through SENS.

Email this JSE Sens Item to a Friend.

Send e-mail to
© 2018 SHARENET (PTY) Ltd, Cape Town, South Africa
Home     Terms & conditions    Privacy Policy
    Security Notice    Contact Details
Market Statistics are calculated by Sharenet and are therefore not the official JSE Market Statistics. The calculation/derivation may include underlying JSE data.