Go Back Email this Link to a friend

Afrox - Changes to the board

Release Date: 31/03/2005 14:46:01      Code(s): AFX
Afrox - Changes to the board                                                    
African Oxygen Limited                                                          
(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa)                                  
(Registration number 1927/000089/06)                                            
Share code: AFX     ISIN Code: ZAE000030920                                     
CHANGES TO THE BOARD                                                            
On 2 December 2004 Afrox advised shareholders that Mr John Walsh, chief         
executive of The BOC Group plc"s ("BOC") global Industrial and Special Products 
business, had resigned from BOC, the majority shareholder of Afrox, and that he 
would leave the BOC Board in March 2005.                                        
Mr Kent Masters has succeeded Mr Walsh as chief executive of BOC"s global       
Industrial and Special Products business and has also been appointed to the BOC 
In accordance with paragraph 3.59 (a) and (b) of the Listings Requirements of   
the JSE Securities Exchange South Africa, notification is hereby given that the 
Afrox board of directors ("the Board") approved the following changes:          
Director           Position on Board             Effective date                 
John Walsh         Chairman, Non-executive       31 March 2005                  
Nick Deeming       Non-executive                 31 March 2005                  
Mike Flemming      Executive                     31 March 2005                  
Tony Isaac         Non-executive                 30 April 2005                  
Rob Lourey         Alternate, Non-executive      30 April 2005                  
Mr Lourey has resigned to pursue his own interests in his native country of     
Australia. Mr Tony Isaac, the chief executive of BOC, and Mr Nick Deeming, BOC  
Group legal director and Company Secretary, resigned from the Afrox Board due to
pressure of global commitments.                                                 
Mr Mike Flemming, chief executive of Afrox Healthcare Limited, resigned to      
pursue the direction of Afrox Healthcare following the disposal of the entire   
shareholding thereof to Business Venture Investments No 790 (Pty) Ltd.          
The Board has agreed the following appointments. The new directors bring a      
breadth of business and geographical to the Board.                              
Director           Position on board             Effective date                 
Louis van Niekerk  Independent non-executive     24 February 2005               
                                                 (announcement was              
                                                 made on 24 February            
Kent  Masters      Chairman, Non-executive       1 April 2005                   
Jim Ford           Non-executive                 1 April 2005                   
Daniel Shook       Alternate, Non-executive      1 May 2005                     
Mr Jim Ford is managing director of BOC"s Industrial and Special Products       
business in Europe and Mr Daniel Shook is finance director of BOC"s gobal       
Industrial and Special Products business.                                       
By order of the Board                                                           
31 March 2005                                                                   
Barnard Jacobs Mellet Corporate Finance (Pty) Ltd                               
Date: 31/03/2005 02:46:04 PM Supplied by www.sharenet.co.za                     
Produced by the JSE SENS Department                                             

Email this JSE Sens Item to a Friend.

Send e-mail to
© 2018 SHARENET (PTY) Ltd, Cape Town, South Africa
Home     Terms & conditions    Privacy Policy
    Security Notice    Contact Details
Market Statistics are calculated by Sharenet and are therefore not the official JSE Market Statistics. The calculation/derivation may include underlying JSE data.